Notice: Undefined index: sent in /home/boheme8/public_html/operas/reviews/index.php on line 295

Write A Review

Madama Butterfly


 please enter an email address 

 the email address is not valid 


 Please enter your name 

Star Rating

 please choose a star rating 

please enter your review

CAPTCHA Image
Type the characters that you see in the box above.


Notice: Undefined variable: captchamessage in /home/boheme8/public_html/operas/reviews/index.php on line 342
Reload Image

Reviews

Mihoko Kinoshita as Madam Butterfly

Madama Butterfly

pages:  1
Feb 12, 2010

"Madama Butterfly" was a Valentine treat for my husband. We both thought the production was superb! The costumes, set, and music were all glorious! We are so fortunate to have the beautiful Orpheum Theatre to house such events! My husband said it was the best sound system he's heard in years! Thank you!!

Favorite moment: The entire opera was magnificent!

- Santorini
Feb 13, 2010

Sad Sad story for Valentines.

I do recommend everyone I know to see Madama Butterfly... It is a great love/tragedy story. Phoenix Opera is a good company, I will go back for many more.

- Butterflyfan
Feb 13, 2010

A dramatic, intimate, elegant BUTTERFLY

Phoenix Opera's production of MADAMA BUTTERFLY was a study in intimacy. A small opera company can be expected to think minimalistically, given the budgets involved in producing an opera. John and Gail Massaro, however, chose not to rest on their laurels from previous seasons (which included a stunning BOHEME and a sumptuous CARMEN among others) by managing the building of a set, and putting together a wonderful ensemble cast, that brought out all the passion, pain and drama of the story and its characters.

Mihoko Kinoshita, a highly acclaimed Japanese soprano, set a new standard for me as Cio-Cio San. Pinkerton has a classic Italianate voice and strong stage presence.

All in all, the Massaros (i.e. John and Gail Dubinbaum-Massaro, co-directors of Phoenix Opera) have a lot to be proud of with this production. I had the distinct pleasure of seeing the Chicago Lyric production of this opera in their 2008/2009 season. With all due respect to the incredible artistic team in Chicago, I like the Phoenix Opera BUTTERFLY even more.

Favorite moment: The climactic moment of Cio-Cio San falling over the Japanese screen upon her suicide. Brilliant direction.

- Operatic
Feb 14, 2010

Madame Butterfly gave me chills!

I am not an opera buff, but I can say that I know good singing and acting, when I hear and see it. Mihoko Kinoshita was outstanding as Cio-Cio San. Her voice was spectacular and her acting just as good. Jon Burton's Pinkerton was strong, as well, and when they sang together - magic! We saw "Carmen" in the fall, and we noticed that the opera company has made a couple of changes that improved the performance - the hyper-text was complete this time, and we liked the two-act format. Thank you for a truly memorable experience.

- BCam
Feb 14, 2009

Butterfly was Fantastic -

Beautifully done, cast was great! Highly recommend:)

- CMW1
Feb 12, 2010

Madama Butterfly was exquisite!

Just beautiful. Performers were AMAZING. From the opening curtain the the final word was just brilliantly done. I would reccomend this to anyone who has never seen an opera before!!

Favorite moment: Every Moment

- jodmud69
Feb 12, 2010

Great Experience

I'm a young opera singer myself, so I'm usually overly critical of people's voices, but I have to admit, even the voices passed my ridiculous standards. The set was beautiful, the orchestra did a great job, and the leading lady, Madame Butterfly, was amazing! I wasn't a fan of the staging of the ending, but everything else was great. I took my friend with me and he'd never seen an opera before. He loved it too. It was a great overall experience.

- Anonymous
Feb 12, 2010

I had never been to the Opera before, and this was a really beautiful story of love, hope, loss, and honor. How can you go wrong? Mihoko Kinoshita was Cio-Cio San (Madama Butterfly) and had an amazing voice and theatrical presence. Very nice to hear and watch. All other cast members were great, too. Some funny and some detestable, but that's all part of the story.

Also, the set and theater were beautiful. The set was awesomely simple, and the theater was old and restored to its notable spendor.

Great night!

Favorite moment: It was difficult to watch, but her waiting all night in silence for Pinkerton to return was touching and painful.

- JuliaOpera
Feb 12, 2010

This was my first opera that I have ever attended. The performance was very entertaining. It starts out a bit slow and does have some moments that drag but overall worth it in the end. The story is very sad but I could relate to it through friends. I would recommend this opera as an unforgettable event.

Favorite moment: When Madame Butterfly awaits for her husband overnight.

- Geminidb8
pages:  1